~ Praying God’s Promises~

Dear Heavenly Father,

I come to you because I know that there are things in my heart that are not right. I know at times I manipulate situations so it benefits me.  Sometimes, I even serve myself and my needs instead of serving others. Forgive me for not always having a servant’s heart. There are times I try to make myself “look good” while there are unconfessed sins in me (1 Corinthians 4:5) I know that there is nothing I can hide from you and I want to be transparent and honest and be more like you. I make excuses for this sinful behavior all along the way and hold onto pride at times thinking “I’m not quite as bad as others” and that is an outright sin and lie because You tell us that each and everyone of us have sinned and fallen short of Your glorious standards (Romans 3:23). This means I cannot live as though I am better (or not as bad) as someone else because You and You alone are my only source of righteousness. Apart from you, I know that there is nothing good that dwells in me alone (Romans 7:18). Lord I pray that you would create in me the heart you intended, a clean heart and renew in me a passion and desire and drive to serve you and you alone (Psalm 51:10).  Help me to follow You are Your plan and your good and perfect will because it is so much better than anything I could ever plan for myself (Romans 8:28). Forgive me for selfishly thinking my way is better and give me the courage to trust you and follow you completely.

 The fact that you love me, even though you know the deepest, darkest secrets of my soul, even in the face of that “ugliness” you chose me to be your daughter and bless me beyond anything I deserve (1 Peter 2:9-10) always amazes me.  It is so hard for me to believe that you would want me to be called Your child and receive the marvelous gifts you have in store for me when I go my own way and get off track. But your grace and forgiveness never cease to amaze me, even though I fail you daily, your mercies are new every morning (Lamentations 3:23-25.) I want my soul to be totally satisfied and hunger for nothing but You.  I bring to you now a broken and contrite heart (Psalm 51:17) and realize that all you ever wanted was for me to love you with all my heart, mind, and strength (Luke 10:27) but instead there are times I foolishly chase after the things of this world. I am sorry Lord that I wasted so much precious time chasing my own desires and making a huge mess of things, and leaving Your ways behind. Help me Lord to be more like you and belong completely to you (Galatians 5:24).  I need you every minute of everyday, I know there is no way I can do “this thing called life” on my own and in my own strength, but thankfully I know that I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me (Philippians 4:13) and you are always there for me, right by my side (Hebrews 13:5).

Oh how I love you, Lord, and thank you for Your precious gift of forgiveness and salvation and letting me be Your daughter.

In Jesus Name,

Amen

2 thoughts on “~ Praying God’s Promises~

Leave a Reply

