~The Real Me~

Some of my strengths are organizing and planning activities.  God has given me the ability to work with children. They seem to be drawn to me, and I love teaching the little ones in Sunday School.  If time and money were not a factor, my dream would be to set up the curriculum for the children throughout the year at Sunday School. I enjoy finding crafts, projects and games for them to play while learning more about God’s love for them.  I also enjoy encouraging and uplifting people, there is nothing more meaningful than sending someone a card or a phone call to let them know you care when they are struggling.  I have been told that I am good at public speaking, but I absolutely hate doing it. I become so nervous and anxious over it, but it truly demonstrates my dependency on God, because when I do speak in public that is all Him and none of me, there is no way I could do that without His strength,  power and peace.

As I was reading the personality types I went through the first three and none of them fit me at all, and I was thinking, “maybe I’m unique”…. well, not so much the fourth one was spot on! Melancholy: Desires Perfection…oh that dreaded word!  I am a perfectionist to the core and it is my own worst enemy.  It prevents me from being content and I am critical of myself and others.  I know God must have made me like this for a reason, but my attention to detail even drives me bonkers at times! I know there are positive sides to this personality type but many of the relational challenges that were mentioned I deal with also.  I have struggled with bouts of depression and enjoy ‘alone’ time, I know I am hard to please and I wish I could be more spontaneous, but even mentioning it, makes me want to start planning something! I have this struggle of letting go of control and placing my total faith and confidence in God’s hands and learning to be content in all circumstances . I am reminded of how Paul mentions in Philippians to be joyous and content no matter what struggles may come because our joy and hope is in Christ and no one can take that from us! And to think, Paul was writing this from prison, that always leaves me in awe.     Even though things may not be ‘my idea’ of perfect God has a plan that is so much better than I can imagine…it takes faith and patience to see it through.  “I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection.  But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me. No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.” Philippians 3:12-14 NLT

…And all I can say to that is a resounding AMEN

5 thoughts on “~The Real Me~

  1. One melancholy perfectionist to another!! I actually hit on melancholy and choleric and both points described me to a “T”. It is hard to think of letting go totally and letting God have control and it’s something I continue to struggle with. Thanks for sharing!!

    Kris Danko (OBS Small Group Leader)

  2. I love your blog!! Such a great reminder to press on… Even if you are in “prison”. I have hope & confidence in Christ no matter my circumstances! Thanks for sharing!
    Emily
    P31 OBS Facebook Group Leader

  3. I love your blog! Such a great reminder to press on, even in your “prison”. I have hope & confidence in Christ no matter my circumstances. Thanks for sharing!
    Emily
    P31 OBS Facebook Group Leader

Leave a Reply

